I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2008 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 127 (LS)

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio
Frank F. Blas, Jr.
Edward J.B. Calvo
B. J.F. Cruz
James V. Espaldon
Mark Forbes
Judith Paulette Guthertz
Frank T. Ishizaki
J. A. Lujan
Tina Rose Muña Barnes
A. B. Palacios, Sr.
v. c. pangelinan
R. J. Respicio
David L.G. Shimizu
J. T. Won Pat, Ed. D.

Relative to recognizing Youth Year 2008 "Youth: Give A Piece For Peace!" and commending the Student Representatives of Trinity Christian School for chairing the Youth Central Planning Committee in promoting programs through the Department of Youth Affairs.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN

- 2 GUÅHAN:
- 3 **WHEREAS**, the Department of Youth Affairs (DYA) was established in
- 4 1978 to assist Guam's youths under court jurisdiction through rehabilitation
- 5 and treatment programs in an effort to reduce recidivism and guide them
- 6 back into the community as better citizens; and

WHEREAS, the Department of Youth Affairs initiated "Youth Month",

2 known today as "Youth Year", to support various schools island-wide in

- promoting programs geared towards adolescents and young adults; and
- 4 WHEREAS, the Department of Youth Affairs plans, coordinates, and
- 5 implements programs, services and activities aimed at youth development,
- 6 rehabilitation and involvement in our community; and
- 7 WHEREAS, this year, student representatives from Trinity Christian
- 8 School had the honor of chairing the Youth Central Planning Committee
- 9 through the Department of Youth Affairs; and

3

- 10 WHEREAS, the Youth Central Planning Committee consists of student
- 11 representatives from the Academy of Our Lady of Guam, Agueda I. Johnston
- 12 Middle School, Andersen Middle School, Bishop Baumgartner Memorial
- 13 School, DODEA Guam High School, DODEA South Middle School,
- 14 Evangelical Christian Academy, F.B. Leon Guerrero Middle School, Father
- 15 Duenas Memorial School, George Washington High School, Guam Adventist
- 16 Academy, Guam Community College, Guam International Christian
- 17 Academy, Harvest Christian Academy, Inarajan Middle School, John F.
- 18 Kennedy High School, Jose Rios Middle School, L.P. Untalan Middle School,
- 19 Mt. Carmel School, Notre Dame High School, Oceanview Middle School,
- 20 Pacific Christian Academy, San Vicente School, Santa Barbara School, Simon
- 21 A. Sanchez High School, Southern High School, St. Anthony School, St.
- 22 Francis School, St. John's School, St. Paul Christian School, Temple Christian
- 23 School, University of Guam, Vicente A. Benavente Middle School, and the
- 24 Twenty-Sixth (26th) Guam Youth Congress, all of whom have been

- 1 contributing to activities such as the Youth Spirit Wave, Proclamation Signing,
- 2 Oratorical Contest, Student Exchange Program, Talent Showcase, and Island
- 3 Leadership Day; and
- 4 WHEREAS, the Department of Youth Affairs strongly supports its
- 5 employees, all of whom go above and beyond to construct positive attitudes
- 6 among our youth; now, therefore, be it
- 7 **RESOLVED**, that I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does
- 8 hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, recognize "Youth: Give a Piece for
- 9 Peace", and does commend the efforts of the Department of Youth Affairs in
- supporting our island's youth; and be it further
- 11 **RESOLVED**, that I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan also
- 12 recognizes the student advisors, parents, and student representatives of their
- 13 respective schools, namely: the Academy of Our Lady of Guam, Agueda I.
- 14 Johnston Middle School, Andersen Middle School, Bishop Baumgartner
- 15 Memorial School, DODEA Guam High School, DODEA South Middle School,
- 16 Evangelical Christian Academy, F.B. Leon Guerrero Middle School, George
- 17 Washington High School, Guam Adventist Academy, Guam Community
- 18 College, Guam International Christian Academy, Harvest Christian Academy,
- 19 Inarajan Middle School, John F. Kennedy High School, Jose Rios Middle
- 20 School, L.P. Untalan Middle School, Mt. Carmel School, Notre Dame High
- 21 School, Oceanview Middle School, Pacific Christian Academy, San Vicente
- 22 School, Santa Barbara School, Simon A. Sanchez High School, Southern High
- 23 School, St. Anthony School, St. Francis School, St. John's School, St. Paul
- 24 Christian School, Temple Christian School, Trinity Christian School,

- 1 University of Guam, Vicente A. Benavente Middle School, and the Twenty-
- 2 Sixth (26th) Guam Youth Congress, for their contributions to the "Youth: Give
- 3 a Piece for Peace"; and be it further

24

Guåhan.

RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the 4 5 Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Christopher M. Duenas, Director, Department of 6 7 Youth Affairs; to Mr. Pascual V. Artero, Program Coordinator III, Department 8 of Youth Affairs; to Ms. Rebecca J. Respicio, Program Coordinator II, 9 Department of Youth Affairs; to the Youth Central Planning Committee; to the 10 Principals of Academy of Our Lady of Guam; Agueda I. Johnston Middle School; Andersen Middle School; Bishop Baumgartner Memorial School; 11 DODEA Guam High School; DODEA South Middle School; Evangelical 12 13 Christian Academy; F.B. Leon Guerrero Middle School; George Washington High School; Guam Adventist Academy; Guam Community College; Guam 14 International Christian Academy; Harvest Christian Academy; Inarajan 15 Middle School; John F. Kennedy High School; Jose Rios Middle School, L.P. 16 Untalan Middle School, Mt. Carmel School, Notre Dame High School; 17 Oceanview Middle School; Pacific Christian Academy; San Vicente School; 18 Santa Barbara School; Simon A. Sanchez High School; Southern High School; 19 20 St. Anthony School; St. Francis School; St. John's School; St. Paul Christian School; Temple Christian School; Trinity Christian School; University of 21 22 Guam; Vicente A. Benavente Middle School; and to the Twenty-Sixth (26th) 23 Guam Youth Congress;; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 10TH DAY OF MARCH 2008.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D. Speaker

TINA ROSE MUNA BARNES
Senator and
Secretary of the Legislature